Playground Love

Last year I was back in Oklahoma for a few weeks and I mistakenly took my daughter across the street to the park, or should I say the Playground of the APOCALYPSE. The park had seen better days. A patina of neglect coated the equipment. Rust and thick spiderwebs blighted the slides. One whole slide was missing. The swings were just seatless, dangling chains. And the only souls around were a group of homeless men drinking mouthwash and cheap beer on a nearby bench. After a few minutes we went back to the house and watched more TV.

Neglected parks are pretty depressing. What once held the promise of fun, laughter, and community now lies abandoned, like some monument to misspent expectations. What was even more depressing about this park was that it was in the center of the city. It should have been crowded with kids playing and with parents watching. Yet, it was more like Mad Max’s salvage yard than a playground.

The desolate playgrounds of America stand in sharp contrast to the bustling parks in Croatia. During the warmer months we spend hours at one of four neighborhood playgrounds around our apartment. Children run around, swing, slide, and spin themselves dizzy on the um… uh… that big thing that makes kids dizzy. The steady traffic of excited ice-cream-eaters flows between the park and the nearby corner store. We parents talk to each other, while sitting, standing or holding the hand of a slide-bound toddler.

Sadly, in the American midwest it is rare to see such a flurry of activity at any park, especially on a daily basis. The reason for this is the ever present backyard. Is it too much to say that the backyard is the ultimate bourgeois luxury? An unnecessary space, predicated on ownership and convenience? An instrument of Americans’ sense of alienation and isolation? Mmm… Probably. But what was once part of my American dream, a house with a big backyard, now seems an anathema to me. I don’t want a backyard. I want a vibrant park. I suppose the silliness of backyards was apparent to me when I was a kid. When I was six I even made a hole in the fence in our backyard so that my friend (whose backyard abutted ours) and I could more easily get to each other’s house. It was only with age did I start to believe in the power of fences and property lines.

Since living in Croatia, I feel, even as a foreigner, like I am more a part of this community than I have in many of the places I’ve lived in the US. And I think this is largely due to Zagreb’s lack of backyards. Without our own space we are forced to use the public spaces around us. We are forced to see each other, to meet each other, and to know each other.

Though backyards may brim with life for some households, they segment the street’s social life into private units, turning the attention of each house inward, making it the very center of its own world. I prefer the playgrounds in Croatia. In Croatia, the park is the center of the neighborhood’s universe, and all of the private little apartments are just silly satellites caught in its orbit.

tumblr_lomv9nGEU31qfz21do1_500

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Playground Love

  1. Nermina

    Great article. You know, the first thing I noticed when I came to USA were empty playgrounds. So many cities have brand new, shiny, colorful playground areas but no kid in sight. It doesn’t matter which part of the country it is, weather conditions or neighborhood, there are no kids outside. So when I see a kid playing outside I am so surprised and so happy that I want to hug the kid and say: “Thank you kid for being outside !” The same thing if I see feral cat since they are almost non-existent, only racoons and opossums.

  2. Ivana

    I love reading your blog and I particularly like this blog post. 🙂 I just wanted to thank you for the opportunity to see my country in this light, and making me feel that there is one thing that is not rotten here in Croatia: the people.
    However, I just wanted to say that I am from Slavonia and I have lived in a small town before going to university, and people in small towns mostly have big backyards with lots of space but prefer going to playgrounds in order to socialize. Even the adults in my street don’t stay in their backyards during summer nights, they are all out there, hanging out. I have never considered it anything spectacular, but now I appreciate it more.

  3. Hrvoje

    Another great article, even the pic you put is really depressing and reminds me on Mad Max as you mentioned (or Walking Dead Series). Since a week ago It was a Labor Day (1st. may) here in Croatia, maybe you could, in one of your next blogs, draw a line between how we celebrate It and what’s your american way. I don’t now how did you spent It, It surely would be interesting to read It. I just can say, since most of people from Zagreb don’t have their private backyards as we mostly live in our apartments, we all seek for some good public spot in nature… as you know the most popular places in Zagreb to have outdoor barbecue is either Jarun Lake or Bundek. And in both places you have few wooden tables and benches, and don’t know if you have noticed during your life here in Zagreb, but people come (an evening before 1st May) to occupy/capture/seize those cosy Gazeboes…they bring their sleeping bags and just camp inside or if they weren’t so lucky on some benches and saving places for their friends which will come in the morning with ice cold beers and ćevapčići ready to be barbecued. But at least even we have hassle in finding good spot (or to take one) we enjoy being outdoors and socialize with other people…:o) cheers, Hrvoje!

  4. rijecankaudublinu

    Excellent post, as always! I grew up in Rijeka – summers were spent mostly on the beach, outside, though we did have a back & front yard. If you barbecued, neighbours were invited. My Mum still leaves her front door open all day, and no one needs to arrange a time for a visit, friends just come up, knock, and the coffee gets made, biscuits or a cake is taken out, and the talk begins… It’s so much more community oriented.

  5. A park-mom

    So it was raining today, the whole day. And today was the day when the hard truth struck me: we can´t survive without parks. It was horrible. I realized that my daughter and I are so used to going to parks on a daily basis that we are simply lost when for some reason we can´t.

    P.S. we have a backyard. It´s a whole different experience going to the park.

  6. Lektor

    Again, great article, man 🙂

    Probably game consoles also do their share…

  7. Anna

    This evening I met a friend who told me about this blog and linked it to my Facebook page. And I’m glad he did it! For now, I read only this post, but I’m sure I’ll continue to follow the blog and in the meantime I’ll read earlier posts.
    Regards from Bol, isladn of Brac!

  8. Ashley

    OMG…what park was this in Tulsa? We do have a large backyard in Minnesota, but the best part is that no one has fences. We sit on our back deck, welcome neighbors for a drink, watch the kids play on the long stretch of grass…it’s great. The really funny thing is that everyone (except us) has their own basketball goal in their driveway…and not one mounted over the garage like in the good old days. They are the standing/movable ones and for the serious players…installed in cement with padding around the base. I could count 20 on my street alone.

  9. Diana

    Interesting perspective, but it certainly doesn’t represent all of the US. Maybe it has to do with the climate? We have a backyard in San Francisco, but when my daughter was younger (she’s 15 now), we went to the playgrounds in our area all the time. It was easier and more fun to make plans to meet friends and also make new ones at the playground. The parks and playgrounds of the SF Bay Area are numerous, beautiful, well used, and maintained. Now that I have a dog, every day I frequent the numerous amazing off leash public dog parks in our area where dogs can run freely in nature with their canine friends and dog owners can socialize and enjoy watching their dogs play. I’m finding that the dog parks, like the children’s playgrounds, are popular and well maintained.

  10. Jamie

    Interesting post, Cody. Though, I daresay it’s at least slightly influenced by your politics, and the politics of private property, ownership, etc. I won’t get to deep into that, other than to say I am sure you know what I mean, and that I don’t mean it in an offensive way.

    A question about Croatian parks: are the play areas filled with parents who are too paranoid and afraid of their children falling down, to the point that there isn’t room for the kids to play? Do the parents hold the hands of their 10-year-old as they slide down the “little kid” slide? This was (seriously) the norm at nearly every park we went to in Bulgaria. All while I got dirty looks for letting my (then) 17 month old daughter play by herself, or climb ladders even though I was right there. 😉

  11. Svimbi

    No, Jamie, it’s not like that at all. Of course, even here you can come across one of those over protective parents who hover over their kid all the time, but it’s really a rare sight.
    I enjoy going to the park with my son, there are quite a few near our building. He always finds a friend to play with, meanwhile us parents hang out, sitting on benches. Once in a while one of us will raise their head to check on the kids, see that all is fine and just let them mind their own business. And appreciate them letting us mind our own 🙂

  12. Igor

    Interesting, as a kid I spent most of my time in parks losing in basketball or watching my friends break their limbs on BMX’s. I had a feeling that our city of Zagreb was one of the few with so many parks but never quite understood how lucky we were until I have seen other places. This reminds of something you should check out.

    Try researching about New Zagreb (Novi Zagreb). It’s the residential part of Zagreb and it has a special little sub-culture of its own. As an intro, try finding books by Edo Popović in English (there should be some). It’s a thing only kids growing up in Novi Zagreb’s parks fully understand. Write on!

  13. Svimbi

    Yeah, Novi Zagreb is something else…. I grew up here, and came back. It just doesn’t let you move ❤

  14. Kristina

    Awesome post! I am an Urban Planner, from Canada, working in Michigan but raised Croatian… When I try to explain situations like this to my co-workers in Michigan they think I am crazy and that and that city parks are not OK for even your dog to play in. I love Croatia, I am considering moving there if I can find work in my field. Keep on blogging, good work!!

  15. Kristijan

    I hope that foto in the end is just for illustration.
    Jesus, it looks like it was taken in Chernobyl.

Leave a comment